Top News

UT Baseball Team Crowned Champions Again


The Spartans are champions yet again. Earlier this afternoon, the baseball team defeated the Catawba College Indians 3-1 to clinch their second National Title in the last three years. The program has grown quite accustomed to success; this being the seventh title in school history.

UT trailed 1-0 after three innings but bounced right back after senior catcher Nick Tindall hit a two-run triple to give them a 2-1 lead in the fourth. The Spartans tacked on some insurance as junior outfielder Casey Scoggins hit an rbi single to drive in senior outfielder Brett Jones, increasing the lead 3-1.

Even though their offense played a huge role in their victory, a championship team can only go as far as their starting pitching takes them. In this case, junior southpaw Michael Calkins pitched a complete game while allowing four hits and striking out four.

Elation was abundant throughout the clubhouse following the monumental win.

“I’m incredibly blessed and thankful to have been a part of the Spartan Baseball family for the last four years,” said senior outfielder Stephen Dezzi, who after the game was named to the 2015 All-Tournament Team. “Winning this title with these guys is the biggest accomplishment in my baseball career and I’m so happy to be able to go out on top with my brothers.”

More updates to come from tournament central in Cary, N.C.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: